Skip to content
Dundee Counts — Dundee, in numbers.Local help →

Dundee · Scotland

People and living standards

Dundee City council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Dundee City

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Dundee City local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 155,550 in 1991 to 148,390 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Dundee City council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 152,200 people in 1996; 148,390 people in 2025. 2.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Dundee City council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991155,550
1992154,960
1993154,000
1994152,200
1995152,460
1996152,200
1997151,350
1998149,680
1999147,970
2000146,610
2001145,460
2002144,370
2003144,080
2004143,100
2005143,600
2006143,360
2007143,700
2008144,290
2009145,170
2010146,060
2011147,200
2012147,560
2013147,560
2014147,360
2015147,320
2016147,220
2017147,810
2018147,770
2019148,290
2020148,070
2021146,790
2022148,470
2023150,200
2024149,330
2025148,390
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Dundee City council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 29,155 people in 1996; 23,282 people in 2025. 20.1% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Dundee City council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199129,561
199229,725
199329,891
199429,771
199529,607
199629,155
199728,507
199827,827
199927,179
200026,532
200125,687
200225,338
200324,847
200424,418
200524,322
200623,979
200723,756
200823,855
200923,902
201023,929
201123,711
201223,757
201323,975
201424,164
201524,437
201624,582
201724,743
201824,563
201924,122
202023,758
202123,521
202223,537
202323,908
202423,810
202523,282
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Dundee City council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 97,399 people in 1996; 97,139 people in 2025. 0.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Dundee City council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991100,618
199299,855
199398,765
199497,066
199597,388
199697,399
199797,058
199896,067
199994,989
200094,357
200193,991
200293,327
200393,592
200493,174
200593,920
200694,128
200794,703
200895,347
200996,358
201097,318
201198,831
201298,646
201398,139
201497,351
201596,943
201696,555
201796,969
201896,997
201997,799
202097,888
202196,600
202298,015
202399,084
202497,998
202597,139
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Dundee City council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,646 people in 1996; 27,969 people in 2025. 9.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Dundee City council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,371
199225,380
199325,344
199425,363
199525,465
199625,646
199725,785
199825,786
199925,802
200025,721
200125,782
200225,705
200325,641
200425,508
200525,358
200625,253
200725,241
200825,088
200924,910
201024,813
201124,658
201225,157
201325,446
201425,845
201525,940
201626,083
201726,098
201826,210
201926,369
202026,424
202126,669
202226,918
202327,208
202427,522
202527,969
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 148,718 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Dundee City · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total133,57989.8%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 147,268 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Dundee City · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White138,36294%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller980.1%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group6850.5%
Asian / Asian British: Indian1,4171%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani2,0471.4%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi3100.2%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese1,2740.9%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian7900.5%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British1,4391%
Other Ethnic Group8460.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 20.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Dundee City council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,050 per person in 1997; £20,563 per person in 2024. 155.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Dundee City council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,050
19988,245
19998,651
20009,106
20019,735
200210,186
200310,343
200410,868
200510,986
200611,441
200712,134
200812,977
200913,173
201012,973
201113,253
201213,654
201314,305
201414,679
201514,950
201615,165
201715,332
201815,548
201916,361
202016,635
202117,268
202217,688
202319,064
202420,563
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Dundee City council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -24.1% in 1997; -20.8% in 2024. 3.3 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Dundee City council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-24.1
1998-23.8
1999-23.5
2000-23.5
2001-21.3
2002-19.5
2003-20.7
2004-19.9
2005-21.9
2006-21.9
2007-20.9
2008-17.6
2009-17.7
2010-19.7
2011-18.7
2012-19.2
2013-18.3
2014-18.8
2015-21.4
2016-21.2
2017-22.2
2018-23.8
2019-22.4
2020-20.7
2021-20.9
2022-23
2023-22
2024-20.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · Dundee City local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Dundee City local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£147,000

July 2026 · Dundee City local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.